From Letterboxes To Shelterboxes

Request a postcard! When your postcard finds a home in your letterbox, provide a new home for someone through Shelterbox.

The Beach, A Wombat and Cheese, Oh My!

Woo-hoo, the first destination has been reached! Tathra was stunning, warm and I even got a tan! Makes a nice change from frost-bound Canberra. The Tathra Surf Life Saving Club had a ‘Moonlight Cinema’ fundraiser, and were screening ‘Tangled’ and ‘The Help’ on their blow-up screen, on the beach, infront of the moonlit water. Amazing. I hope they raised a shirt-load!

The first postcards are OFF!

The requests for 'Tathra', 'Wombat' and 'Cheese' were fulfilled.

My Dad requested Tathra on behalf of my Grandad, who got ‘upgraded’ to a card – which is on its way to South Australia. As for the Wombat and Cheese* ones, they are both off to Cornwall in the UK! Which is a neat coincidence, as the Shelterbox HQ is based in Cornwall.

* Bega Cheese Factory had a surprising lack of cheesy postcards – you can see the only picture they had of cheese was in the top right hand corner of the Bega postcard. So, normally I wouldn’t have to choose a cow in lieu of a cheese postcard.
If you want a REAL cheese experience I recommend Tilba Tilba who have a wonderful array of flavours. And if you ask around you can even find ‘firecracker’ cheese!

As you can see, I find sending postcards a very dull experience:

After looking 'normal' for the first shot...

the excitement overwhelmed me...

and fist-pumping was involved.

I am back in Canberra now, doing final preparations for the trip  (Tathra was a family holiday over Easter). I’m in the process of creating a video about the fundraiser with my good friend Chelsea (watch this space!), packing up my gear and making sure I have everything I need in my car for the epic journey to come! My next destinations are Bundanoon for the Brigadoon Festival, the Blue Mountains and Sydney. I haven’t quite finalised the departure date, but will be making a post about it as soon as everything is ready.

Already know where or what you want for your postcard? Make a postcard request!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2012 by in Past Locations and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

I’m on Facebook too!

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

